Not logged inChampdogs Information Exchange
Forum Breeders Help Search Board Index Active Topics Login
Up Topic Other Boards / Say Hello / Looking for a golden retriever
- By 21stcenturyfox [gb] Date 22.10.16 11:45 GMT
Hi all,
I'm new to this and have been searching for a golden retriever puppy. I receive alerts when new litters are due or have arrived. When I contact the breeders I get no response. Is there a protocol for buying puppies or is it acceptable to simply contact the breeder to say I am interested.

Many thanks
Megan
- By Admin (Administrator) Date 22.10.16 12:10 GMT Upvotes 1
Welcome to the forum :grin: It's always a good idea to tell the breeders you contact, a little about yourself in your opening email. It's worth mentioning if you have had a dog before and your family set up and situation. Also, make sure you provide correct contact details so that the breeder can respond. One line emails eg: "I want a puppy and have you got any? " or "how much are your puppies?" tend to be ignored. It's always best to tell the breeder about yourself, as well as what it is that you are looking for.  Finally, breeders with litters may not respond straight away. If they have a litter on the ground then they are likely to be busy, so don't panic if you don't hear anything for a few days.
- By Ells-Bells [gb] Date 22.10.16 12:21 GMT
What area are you in and how far would you travel?
- By Shoe-dweller [gb] Date 22.10.16 12:27 GMT
Welcome.
- By MamaBas Date 22.10.16 13:08 GMT
Breeders are busy people, especially when they have a litter on the ground.   For starters.   It's possible they don't open their emails that often so I'd phone.   And try to pick a time when they are not likely to be tied up feeding (puppies or themselves!!), or exercising any adults they might have as well as the litter.