Not logged inChampdogs Information Exchange
Forum Breeders Help Search Board Index Active Topics Login
Up Topic Other Boards / FAQ / where do virus come from?
- By mr murphy [gb] Date 02.10.02 13:19 GMT
Where does a virus come from?.
Why does it get sent anywhere in particular?. (like champ dogs or Fiona for instance).
Is it possible to trace who sent it?.
Im quite new to computers so Im not to sure how the virus thing works. My protection prog has caught 15 in the last 4 months. Has'nt affected me in any way though.
All info/advice welcome.
Mick
- By Ingrid [gb] Date 02.10.02 13:26 GMT
I'm not sure why people start viruses, just to wreck others fun I suppose.
Some like the Badtrans one collect keystrokes and mail them back to the original address (which was a hotmail account), the person there had a programme that could pick out bank account numbers and therefore give acceoss to your account. Mostly the virus check companies are onto them in a very short time.
Others just mess up the system, meaning you either have to reformat and re programme or buy a new PC.
My biggest problem is that my daughter's friends often run their systems without an up to date or no virus check so I have to warn them to be very careful about what they open. Ingrid
- By Leigh [gb] Date 02.10.02 13:37 GMT
You might find this of interest :-)

Origins
People create viruses. A person has to write the code, test it to make sure it spreads properly and then release the virus. A person also designs the virus's attack phase, whether it's a silly message or destruction of a hard disk. So why do people do it?